SHORELINE COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NUMBER SEVEN BOARD OF TRUSTEES SPECIAL MEETING OF JULY 7, 2014 Page 1 of 2

## MINUTES

The Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Shoreline Community College District Number Seven was called to order by Chair Shoubee Liaw at 4:00 PM in the Board Room (#1010M), located in the Administration Building (#1000) at Shoreline Community College, 16101 Greenwood Avenue North, Shoreline, Washington 98133.

### MEMBERS PRESENT

Trustees Phil Barrett, Catherine D'Ambrosio, Shoubee Liaw, Tom Lux and Tayloe Washburn were present.

Assistant Attorney General (AAG) John Clark represented the Office of the Attorney General.

Motion 14:29:A motion was made by Chair Liaw to change the order of the July<br/>7, 2014 Special Meeting agenda, with the Communication from the<br/>Public to precede the Election of Board of Trustees Officers.

Trustee Barrett seconded the motion, which was then unanimously approved by the Board.

### COMMUNICATION FROM THE PUBLIC

Interim President Daryl Campbell announced his resignation and shared that he will be moving onto become the President and CEO of Seattle Goodwill Industries. As a result, Dr. Cheryl Roberts is scheduled to begin her tenure as Shoreline Community College's President on August 1, 2014. Interim President Campbell noted that he and Dr. Roberts have intensified their transition efforts and thanked the Board and members of the campus community for a "magnificent six plus years."

Professor and SCCFT President Amy Kinsel congratulated Interim President Campbell and expressed appreciation for his work and service. She read a memorandum (Subject: Salary Increase for New Executive Vice President), addressed to the Board of Trustees, from the SCCFT Executive Board. (Memorandum attached.)

# <u>ACTION: ELECT BOARD OF TRUSTEES OFFICERS (2014 – 2015) – CHAIR, VICE CHAIR, SECRETARY</u>

Motion 14:30: A motion was made by Trustee D'Ambrosio, nominating Trustee Tayloe Washburn to serve as the 2014 – 2015 Chair of the Board of Trustees.

No second was put forth.

SHORELINE COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NUMBER SEVEN BOARD OF TRUSTEES SPECIAL MEETING OF JULY 7, 2014 Page 2 of 2

> Motion 14:31: A motion was made by Trustee Barrett, nominating Trustee Tom Lux to serve as the 2014 – 2015 Chair of the Board of Trustees.

> > Chair Liaw seconded the motion.

Trustee D'Ambrosio conveyed that it was her understanding that the position of Chair, rotated by seniority. Chair Liaw and Trustee Barrett referred to the section on election of Board Officers contained in the Board's Governance Manual.

Trustee Washburn communicated his surprise after the last Board meeting and expressed disappointment in the way the Board has been managed over the course of the year, and announced his resignation from the Board of Trustees.

Trustees Barrett, Liaw and Lux voted aye on the motion set forth by Trustee Barrett. Trustee D'Ambrosio voted nay.

Motion carried.

Motion 14:32: A motion was made by Trustee Lux, nominating Trustee Catherine D'Ambrosio to serve as the 2014 – 2015 Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Trustee Barrett seconded the motion.

Trustees Barrett, Liaw and Lux voted aye on the motion set forth by Trustee Lux.

Motion carried.

Action was not required for the Secretary to the Board position. Interim President Campbell delegated the 2014 – 2015 Secretary to the Board position to Lori Yonemitsu.

### ADJOURNMENT

Chair Liaw adjourned the meeting at 4:18 PM.

Signed \_\_\_\_

Shoubee Liaw, Chair

Attest: September 17, 2014

Lori Y. Yonemitsu, Secretary