SHORELINE COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NUMBER SEVEN BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING OF JUNE 28, 2017

CONSENT AGENDA

Subject: Exceptional Faculty Award

Background

Exceptional Faculty Awards Recommendation Committee: Alison Stevens, Mary Brueggeman, Stuart Trippel, Jeannette Idiart, and Claire Murata.

Shoreline Community College has annually provided recognition of one or more of its exceptional faculty through the Exceptional Faculty Award. An endowment account was established in 1999 through funds from the Shoreline Community College Foundation and matching funds from the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (pursuant to RCW 28B.50.837-844).

This year, the committee received a total of five nominations by the deadline established for the Exceptional Faculty Award. Traditionally, recognition of the recipients occurs at the Fall Convocation during Opening Week. The confidentiality of the award recipient(s) is maintained until that time.

Each of the nominees was found worthy of the committee's serious consideration. The criteria used for consideration include:

- o Exemplary Work Performance
- Positive Impact on Students
- o Professional Achievement
- Commitment to Diversity
- Cooperative Spirit
- o Leadership
- Contributions to the College or Community

Although the committee recognized the value of each nominee's contributions, one of the candidates was significantly distinguished for recognition based on the criteria.

Recommendation

That the Board of Trustees approve the committee's recommendation of one (1) 2017 - 2018 Exceptional Faculty Award in the amount of \$1,000 (one thousand dollars).

Prepared by: Veronica Zura Director of Human Resources Shoreline Community College June 23, 2017