SHORELINE COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NUMBER SEVEN BOARD OF TRUSTEES SPECIAL MEETING OF FEBRUARY 6, 2014

MINUTES

The Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Shoreline Community College District Number Seven was called to order by Chair Shoubee Liaw at 3:07 PM in the Board Room (#1010M) of the Administration Building (#1000) at Shoreline Community College, 16101 Greenwood Avenue North, Shoreline, Washington 98133.

MEMBERS PRESENT

Trustees Phil Barrett, Catherine D'Ambrosio, Shoubee Liaw, Tom Lux and Tayloe Washburn were present.

Assistant Attorney General (AAG) John Clark represented the Office of the Attorney General.

Also present: Vice President for Human Resources and Legal Affairs Stephen Smith and ACCT Search Consultant Dr. Laura Saunders.

EXECUTIVE SESSION (Conducted in the H.R. Training Room #1011M)

At 3:22 PM, Chair Liaw announced that the Board would convene in Executive Session for approximately sixty minutes to evaluate the qualifications of an applicant/applicants for public employment.

At 4:22 PM, Secretary to the Board of Trustees Lori Yonemitsu announced that the Board would extend its Executive Session by five minutes.

At 4:27 PM, Secretary to the Board of Trustees Lori Yonemitsu announced that the Board would extend its Executive Session by two minutes.

RECONVENE IN SPECIAL SESSION

At 4:29 PM, the Trustees reconvened in Special Session in the Board Room (#1010M) in the Administration Building (#1000).

ACTION: PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH FINALISTS

Motion 14:03: A motion was made by Trustee Washburn to accept the three

recommendations put forward by the Presidential Search Screening Committee, and to add a fourth candidate, to the Presidential

Finalist Candidate pool.

Trustee Barrett seconded the motion, which was then unanimously approved by the Board.

SHORELINE COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NUMBER SEVEN BOARD OF TRUSTEES SPECIAL MEETING OF FEBRUARY 6, 2014 Page 2 of 2

The Trustees, Vice President Smith and Dr. Saunders discussed the timeline, activities (background checks, for example) that need to transpire between this point forward and the finalists' visits to campus, the scheduling of the open forums and interviews with the finalists and potential scheduling conflicts due to the work related responsibilities of several Trustees.

Chair Liaw expressed the Board's appreciation for the hard work of the Presidential Search Screening Committee and the training provided by Dr. Ernest Johnson and Dr. Yvonne Terrell-Powell on Multicultural Competencies and on Cognitive Errors.

Chair Liaw announced the finalists, in alphabetical order by last name:

- Dr. Warren Brown
- Ms. Paula Langteau
- Dr. Cheryl Roberts
- Dr. Dennis Rome

	COMMUNICA	TION	FROM	THE	PUBL	JC
--	------------------	------	------	-----	------	----

N	n.	_
IN	on	←

ADJOURNMENT:

Chair Liaw adjourned the meeting at 4:44 PM.

	Signed
	Shoubee Liaw, Chair
Attest: February 26, 2014	
Lori Y. Yonemitsu, Secretary	